Miggy Augmented Orchestra

New York based 17 piece jazz orchestra

led by Migiwa Miyajima


Swinging, exuberant modernism from composer Migiwa “Miggy” Miyajima 

The 17-piece Miggy Augmented Orchestra, under the leadership of Japan-born, New York-based composer and pianist Migiwa “Miggy” Miyajima, brings together rising stars and accomplished veterans in a radiant ensemble devoted to Miggy’s complex, melodic and urgently swinging original music. Drawing inspiration from role models like Thad Jones and Jim McNeely, the Miggy Augmented Orchestra harnesses the excitement of jazz to express Miyajima’s unique experience as an artist shaped by life in the U.S. and Japan.

Miggy defies big band orthodoxies” - George Kanzler

— NYC Jazz Record

a vibrant, rich, intellectual accomplished set” - Dan Bergsagel

— London JazzNews

Her signature style of soul-touching tunes, Miyajima’s music reflects her journey as a musician and humanitarian ”

— Birdland Jazz Club