1. Hope for Hope (BMI concert)

Hope for Hope
Composed by Migiwa Miyajima
宮嶋みぎわ作曲「Hope for Hope」

For more information

Played by 演奏は
The BMI/New York Jazz Orchestra によるもので
at the 27th Annual showcase concert of BMI Jazz Composers Workshop
NYで27年(2015年現在)続く、プロ作曲家のためのワークショップ「BMI ジャズ作曲家ワークショップ」の定例演奏会で演奏されたものです。
Migiwa will play this piece on ...
Oct 2nd (fri), 2015 at Tokyo TUC (Tokyo, Japan 東京都神田エリア) with Miggy+ Jazz Orchestra featuring Steve Wilson
Oct 3rd (sat), 2015 at 藝文ホール(Mito, Ibaraki, Japan 茨城県水戸市) with Miggy+ Jazz Orchestra featuring Steve Wilson

"This piece is based on a resolution I came to in a time of distress. After the terrible earthquake in Japan in 2011, everyone around me was depressed, and it felt like that would never change. One day I realized that someone has to be the first to break the spell of sadness, to start smiling again, so why not me?
In this music I'm trying to express how one person can make a small decision that ripples out to affect many others, and change things for the better. Next time it could be you." Migiwa Miyajima

「この曲について:この曲は、苦悩の中で至った、わたし自身のとある決意を元に書いた曲です。2011年、日本に起きた大変な地震の後、世の中の人達全てが塞ぎこんでいるように見えた時期がありました。そしてその状態が永遠に続くように、あの時の私には思えました。ですがある時、気づいたんです。この失意の中から飛び出して、笑い始める最初の一人になるぞ、と誰かが決意しないと、いけないのではないか、と。誰にとってもそう決意することは難しそうで…だったら、自分が始めるしかないよね、と思った訳です。Hope for Hopeというのは誰かの希望のための希望という意味。この音楽の中で私は、一人の人間が小さな決断をすることによって、波紋が周囲に広がり、たくさんの人、たくさんの物事を変えていくという物語を、歌っています。」宮嶋みぎわ

The BMI/New York Jazz Orchestra
Marc Phaneuf
Ben Kono
Dan Willis
Rob Middleton
Alden Banta

Dan Urness
John Eckert
Steve Smyth
Dave Smith

Tim Sessions
Pete McGuinness
JC Sanford
Jen Wharton

Sebastian Noelle - guitar
Deanna Witkowski - piano
Dave Ambrosio - bass
Jared Schonig - drums